Menu

Safeguarding

What is Safeguarding?

The NSPCC states that Safeguarding is:

  • the action that is taken to promote the welfare of children and protect them from harm.

The NSPCC states Safeguarding means:

  • protecting children from abuse and maltreatment.
  • preventing harm to children’s health or development.
  • ensuring children grow up with the provision of safe and effective care.
  • Taking action to enable all children and young people to have the best outcomes.

Here at Onslow St Audrey’s we work in collaboration with our parents/carers to help and support the young people in our care. The health, safety and well-being of our students is paramount, if we feel a young person is suffering or at risk of harm or abuse we have to act. A referral to Children’s Services doesn’t mean we are in any way accusing any individual of wrongdoing, we are following a strict Safeguarding procedure. We have a duty of care so we have a duty to act.

To view our Child Protection Policy click here:

If you require a paper copy of any of our policies or any information on our website, please email admin@onslow.herts.sch.uk.


School Contacts:

If you have any concerns about a young person, you must report it.

Headteacher: Mr David Bullock head@onslow.herts.sch.uk

Our DSP is: Miss Gamze Sahin GSahin@onslow.herts.sch.uk

Our Deputy DSP is: Mrs Emma McIntyre EMcintyre@onslow.herts.sch.uk

Our Team of Year Managers are all Safeguarding Officers:

Year 7 – Mrs D Younger DYounger@onslow.herts.sch.uk

Year 08 – Mrs D Mountford DMountford@onslow.herts.sch.uk

Year 9 – Mrs S Simmons SSimmons@onslow.herts.sch.uk

Year 10 – Mrs J Chandler JChandler@onslow.herts.sch.uk

Year 11 – Mrs L Fisher LFisher@onslow.herts.sch.uk


If you are a child or young person being abused or mistreated, or an adult worried about a young person call Children’s Services anytime on 0300 123 4043.

Call 999 if you are in immediate danger or a crime is being committed.

Other Useful Contacts:

Parents and students can access information around Safeguarding and website links about how to protect young people online by clicking on the relevant links below:

www.childline.org.uk

www.nspcc.org.uk

www.ceop.police.uk